John Tzimorangas Appointed by Governor Healey to Special Massachusetts Clean Energy Infrastructure Siting and Permitting Commission

Statehouse, Boston Massachusetts, September 26, 2023 -​ Governor Maura Healey signed an Executive Order creating the Commission on Clean Energy Infrastructure Siting and Permitting (CEISP) swearing-in (28) Commission members during today’s private ceremony. Among those appointed to this important clean energy committee was Energy New England, LLC (ENE) President & CEO, John G. Tzimorangas. John will be one of three members representing the electric utility sector and public power utilities.

The Committee was tasked in helping to expedite the Massachusetts Clean Energy and Climate Plans (CECP), to site the new energy infrastructure like offshore wind generation, solar, storage, transmission, and distribution infrastructure. The intent of the CEISP is to bring together stakeholders to swiftly remove barriers to responsible clean energy infrastructure development.  The CEISP will be tasked with reducing permitting timelines, ensuring communities have input in the siting and permitting of clean energy infrastructure, and ensuring that the benefits of the clean energy transition are shared equitably.

“The clean energy transition can’t wait,” said Governor Healey. “This commission represents our administration’s efforts to bring people together and build consensus to tackle one of the most complex issues of our time. We are looking forward to receiving a strong slate of recommendations that will deliver clean, affordable energy to our communities and all the economic growth that will come with it.”

“We’re thrilled to have a robust and diverse group of leaders to lead the Commission on Clean Energy Infrastructure Siting and Permitting,” said Energy and Environmental Affairs Secretary Rebecca Tepper. “We worked intentionally to ensure that we would have representation from every sector of the clean energy space – from labor to environmental justice leaders, to energy experts. With these members leading this effort, we are confident that the recommendations will be smart, balanced, and ready for action.”

“I am thrilled and honored to be chosen by Governor Healey and Secretary Tepper as part of the team to offer my clean electric industry insights on this important commission”, said ENE President & CEO John G. Tzimorangas. “We will only meet the Commonwealth’s aggressive clean energy goals with our collective efforts as a commission. The Governor has assembled an all-star team of talent who I think are up for the task.”

Those appointed to the Commission include:

State Agencies 

  • Mike Judge, Undersecretary of Energy, Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs and Chair of the CEISP
  • Nick Rose, General Counsel, Division of Labor Standards within the Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development
  • Ashley Stolba, Undersecretary of Economic Foundations, Executive Office of Economic Development
  • Amy Stitely, Chief of Programs, Executive Office of Housing and Livable Communities


  • John Mangiaratti, Acton Town Manager and member of the Massachusetts Municipal Association
  • Dorothy McGlincy, Executive Director, Massachusetts Association of Conservation Commissions
  • Lizzi Weyant, Deputy Executive Director, Metropolitan Area Planning Commission

Environmental Justice Organizations 

  • Mary Claire Kelly, Attorney, Alternatives for Community and Environment
  • Eve Rodriguez, Task Force Member, Lawrence Pa’lante Resident Task Force
  • Eddie Rosa, Community Programs Director, Groundwork Lawrence
  • Member of Arise for Social Justice in Springfield to be announced

Climate, Environmental, and Land Use Advocates  

  • Steve Long, Director of Policy and Partnerships, The Nature Conservancy
  • Michelle Manion, VP of Policy and Advocacy, Mass Audubon
  • Caitlin Peale Sloan, VP for Massachusetts, Conservation Law Foundation

Electric Utilities   

  • Alexandra Blackmore, General Counsel for New England, National Grid
  • Catherine Finneran, VP for Transmission Project Development, Siting & Project Service, Eversource
  • John Tzimorangas, President and CEO, Energy New England

Agricultural Interests  

  • Nathan L’Etoile, National Farm Viability Managing Director, American Farmland Trust

Tribal Organization 

  • To be announced

Youth Climate Council Representative 

  • To be announced

Energy Siting Practitioner 

  • Mary Beth Gentleman, Chair, CEISP Siting Practitioner Advisory Group

Clean Energy Industry 

  • Carrie Cullen Hitt, Senior Director for Grid and Transmission Policy, Vineyard Offshore
  • Jeremy McDiarmid, Managing Director and General Counsel, Advanced Energy United
  • Jessica Robertson, Director of Policy & Business Development for New England, New Leaf Energy
  • Mark Sylvia, Chief of Staff, Bluewave Solar

Housing and Real Estate 

  • Matthew Teague, President, Reef Realty, Ltd.
  • JD Chesloff, President and CEO, Mass Business Roundtable


  • Frank Callahan, President of the Massachusetts Building Trades Unions

Chairs of the Joint Committee Telecommunications, Utilities, and Energy (Non-Voting Members) 

  • State Representative Jeffrey Roy
  • State Senator Michael Barrett

The Commission will also be instructed to make recommendations on administrative, regulatory, and legislative changes to existing permitting and siting procedures by Spring 2024.

Vincent J. Ragucci, III
Chief Strategy Officer Phone: (508) 698-1240

Translate »